Mahama, Accra mayor visit Theodosia Okoh to render apologies

Read Comments Comments (104)

• CTZ 10 years ago

THANK YOU MR. PRES.

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

Good move.

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

At least Mahama is showing some humility and decency towards those who have contributed their quota over and beyond the norm, to make us a collective body as a nation.

But Mr President, do not stop there. There are many dea ...

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

what kind of hypocrisy is this. today the woman is alive so political capital is being made out of this stupid blunder. what about the family of ohene djan. is mahama saying that was not a mistake let alone a sad one quoting ...

• OSBON 10 years ago

I am proud that the president has taken my advice from day one that Dr Vanderpuye should go to the OLD lady and apologise in person.
    I can see that the president take's our comment in the site seriously.

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Source: Daily Guide...

All of a sudden nonentities want to portray to the world how close they were to the late President.

Those who had to chat with him for one hour everyday, those Deputy Ministers who had to call him ...

• jdm is a hypocrite 10 years ago

we know he is the one that pushed that stupid vanderpuye to act that way because he was so desperate to shift the minds of the people from demanding to know the cause of the death of the ex-prez so he was eager to portray to ...

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

Blinded by your mediocrity, pettiness and misplaced passion, you fail to recognize true leadership! One that can recognize not only it's strenghs and potential but also it's own weaknesses, say sorry where necessary and addre ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

MAAME OKOK/WARRIOR MUST BE PUT ON GH SALARY. EVERY MONTH, A CHECK MUST BE HAND DELIVERED TO HER RESIDENCE UNTIL SHE DIES.

AS FOR OKO VANDERPUYE....H SHOULD CONCENTRATE ON DEVELOPING ACCRA SO 1 DAY THE PUBLIC CAN ALSO NAME ...

• Homesense 10 years ago

Pontius Pilate, you could have been more civil by reming the President of the Ohene Djan case.

Let's drop the venom in our thoughts and speech for decency and objectivity.

KUDOS, President Mahama

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author: Gye Nyame...
    This is the way the administration flows, they are only apologizing because the 91 year old decided that she was not going to take it lying down, other wise they would have rolled over her and done the c ...

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

Homesense, look at the name he is inspired by. He will find it difficult to be saved by your homesense just as Pontius pilate failed to protect XT!!

• kk 10 years ago

Accra Sports Stadium was the original name. Kuffour should rather be blamed for changing the name to Ohene Djan. In the case of the hockey pitch, Van is being insulted for changing the name, so why do you want the original na ...

• adomba 10 years ago

THIS IS WHAT WE CALL LEADERSHIP, THIS GUY IS SUCH GREAT LEADER. GOD BLESS YOU AND INCREASE YOUR GREATNESS. MAY ALL YOUR ENEMIES AND ENEMIES OF GHANA FAIL AND FALL AND THEIR SCHEMES BRAUGHT TO NOTHING

• Captain Mosquito, Netherlands 10 years ago

Mahama shd have called the woman or sent a delegate to her. He is wasting Ghana's time on trivial issues just for cheap political points. His days are numbered. This action will not bring you favour before the eyes of the Sup ...

• Nii Lante Okunka 10 years ago

Seriously,our President could spend his time wisely than this "visit of apology".A call to the old lady could just be magnanimous enough.But this is Ghana for you.Priorities are skewed as hell in that country.I'm tired of scr ...

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE KUMASI SPORTS STADIUM'S NAME WAS CHANGED TO BABA YARA SPORTS STADIUM & ASHANTIS DID NOT COMPLAIN ABOUT IT BUT ACCEPTED AND HONOURED BABA YARA (FROM THE NORTHERN REGION/KINTAMPO).

THIS ERROR AND ETHNOCE ...

• kk 10 years ago

Baba Yara spent almost his entire life playing football in that stadium so it was not surprising when it was named after him. Kuffour should have also selected someone who had done the same for the Accra Sports Stadium and th ...

• real ghanaian 10 years ago

total rubbish. How do you tell a president who to honour? The president must stop the hypocrisy. All those gangantuan mistake must be corrected. Accra sports stadium must revert to Ohene Djan. The mayor must google Ohene Djan ...

• Hard Reply 10 years ago

It takes number of players to make a team not one person in a team who needs the help of other team mates to survive in a team. So Accra sports stadium should be name not what president who doesn't think over things before do ...

• kk 10 years ago

This is not total rubbish. You did not get the argument and that is why we are in this situation. If Kuffour had done the proper consultations on Accra Sports Stadium no body would have agitated for a change. This is a proble ...

• Plural 10 years ago

How could you take away the name of a city away from the stadium and replaced it with the name of an individual? Even Azumah Nelson does not deserve that. Any way who was Ohene Djan? Is it true that he was once convicted? Is ...

• kasavubu 10 years ago

Ohene Djan was not convicted as many have been made to believe. He was the Director of Sports under K Nkrumah and was directly responsible for all the successes and failures of the regime when it came to sports.
    Then was thi ...

Ohene Djan does not even deserve a public toilet being named after him. He was ordinary sports man like the others. Nothing else !

• Selasia 10 years ago

Mills' huge potriat mounted in front of the hockey stadium should be removed immediately to make any sense of the apology

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

The President has apologized for this stupidity more than 10X; if he knew he had to go there and apologize, why did he has to spend time talking about it.

But in a Nation, where leaders have nothing to do, think or act, we ...

• fact!!!! 10 years ago

this woman's story clearly shifted the 1yr anniversary of mills. and it is a clear indication that there are many patriotic ghanaian citizens out there that needs to be celebrated instead of mills. names and respect are earne ...

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

you know what simpa means?

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

Why don't you idiot tell us what Simpa means? For all that I care it is the same as Winneba and the cliche Simpa Panyin is a mythical person of the same equivalence as Konongo Kaya. Away with your nonsense and craving for som ...

the people of Winneba are straight up competent people and have done nothingwrong to deserve to be referred to in derogatory terms....maybe you are raised to believe it is ok make such derogatory reference to a whole tribe. ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Thank you Mr. Prez. You have shown a good sense of statesmanship and diplomacy but tell Van to stop being power drunk. He can be a good MDCE if he stops being a sycophant. Naming even the Atlantic ocean will do Ghana no good. ...

• Plural 10 years ago

Did you find, you as a student of history,wisdom in taking the name of Accra, an ethnic group, away and replacing it with the name of an individual whose character had stains? If he worked to promote supports, it was because ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

What about Kumasi Sports Stadium? Was it not changed and named after Baba Yara who was not a native of the area? Did Baba Yara also not reap from his play in those days? Why do Ashanti people not ask for a change in name? Wha ...

• HASSAN 10 years ago

MAHAMA CANNOT RULE GHANA. HE IS TOO CORRUPT AND LACKS LEADERSHIP QUALITIES. THE MAYOR SHOULD HAVE BEEN FIRED. WHERE IS THE GYEEDA REPORT? THIEVES IN POWER. GOD HELP GHANA.

• mimi 10 years ago

Cry baby

• OPINION 10 years ago

Indeed he can't rule Ghana bcs he's not the NPP arrogant leaders. But he does exactly what a true leader does - that is to lead.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

This is what you get when you invite idiots for dinner. Mahama, you will spend a lot of your time on goofs and apologies because NDC is full of maggots who can't think.

• Agbedefu 10 years ago

That's my President. A very good move.

• Lawry King 10 years ago

Good move from the president. Grandmum will be happy with that i am sure

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

THAT IS THE WAY TO GO. WELL DONE.

• Ewusi 10 years ago

Visionary Leaders do not go apologiesing because they always bring on board level headed people who would never bring disgrace.

• kwesi 10 years ago

Your idea about visionary leaders need a review. Go back to school waa-look twi bo.

• SERWAA AMA 10 years ago

bravooooooooooooooo Mr pres

• BABA 10 years ago

THAT IS GOOD NEWS MR.PRESIDENT WE LOVE YOU KEEP IT UP.

• my learned friend 10 years ago

That is a good news Mr president you have shown us that you are a leader and a man.l am not supporting any party in ghana but l really admired your move,pls also help the technical and the vocational schools be there the bedr ...

• Barima Yaw 10 years ago

So what

• bob 10 years ago

Best PR is in eyeball-to-eyeball communication ... gud job ... how long will you apologize for your errant hirings?

• KRETZ - D 10 years ago

This is why Mahama is not the right leader for Ghana. This guy is a REACTIVE leader but not PROACTIVE one. A leaders who cannot lead proactively is not a good one. He is experimenting the presidency.

• GO WEY YOU 10 years ago

As for this, Mahama has done well. My advise to him is that, he should beware of these tribalist Ga "Tokyo Joe" boys. They can easily make your govt unpopular, with their childish, and separatist politics, because they know t ...

• Emmanuel 10 years ago

UNBELEIVABLE NOTHING WORKS IN GHANA EVEN SUPREME COURT DON'T FOLLOW THEIR RULE, THE ONLY THING YOU HAVE TO DO IS KNOW HOW TO APOLOGISE AND THAT'S IT. IS VERY SAD AS COUNTRY

• Adama 10 years ago

..and following the rules when Ghanaians visit the public toilet, male to males and female to females. That's what works well in Ghana.

• anonymous 10 years ago

BRAVO MR. PRESIDENT. WE ARE SOO PROUD OF U. YOU ALWAYS DO THE RIGHT THING AT THE RIGHT TIME.

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

I do applaud President Mahama for showing deep remorse by offering both public and personal apology to Mrs Theodosia Okoh. At least, he has treated Mrs Okoh with the respect that she deserves.

• Amos,Legon 10 years ago

That's my president!

• Honesty - the best policy 10 years ago

Well done Mr. President! This is the way to go - humility.

• Papa kweku 10 years ago

This is true and heartfeit respect. Mr. President Mahama,THANK YOU.

• Queen 10 years ago

A step in the right direction. We need more changes in the country.

• Kofi Sammy 10 years ago

Gas, this mayor has on good mind for your tribe, all problems in the Ga state is caused by this guy,the Ga chieftancy situation today, he has use his position to cause it.
    I am not a Ga so Gas watch out, this Vanderpuye, he ...

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

The first thing the President should have done is to sack this idiot vanderpuije fool. Then he can go and apologize. But to go to the Senior Citizen's house with this idiot tagging along his heels, to me is an insult in itsel ...

• Akpenu Fianu 10 years ago

This tribalistic and good for nothing man has to be sacked in the first place before the president make that move. The "GAS" are useless being on earth , even when you visit the places in accra where they live, is full of fil ...

• mimi 10 years ago

You are a war monger.

• Teacher Awo 10 years ago

Akpenu Fianu I don't think that is your real name. You are a coward. Just try this insults directly on any Ga and you will experience the Ga spirit. May the gods of our land deal with you.

• Kofi Sammy 10 years ago

All problems including chieftancy situation is cause by the Vanderpuyes
    I am not a Gas but i say Gas be careful of this Guys, He and his brother will not help Gas stop voting for them.

• Adams Mahama 10 years ago

My dear president is that all, what about the other names he has changed.Until you reverse the others though am NDC supporter you have not got the right track.

• ASEM DA HO 10 years ago

PROPAGANDA AT WORK

• Analyst 10 years ago

A good move is a good propaganda. Do you agree?

• Musa 10 years ago

Apology is good but Mr president leave the dumb Mayor to do the personal apology himself. If we have square pegs in round holes, we can't have a situation like this happening anywhere. What was this mayor thinking?

• Beth 10 years ago

Praise God for our President who accepts mistakes and rectify situations. May God continue to bless you with wisdom to rule His people in Ghana and wherever He gives you opportunity Amen!!!!!!!

• Ywa 10 years ago

Good job

• NPP 10 years ago

WE HAVE HUMBLE PRESIDENT AT THE MOMENT WE DONT NEED ARROGANT PERSON LIKE NANA AKUFFO ADDO THE DWARF TO RULE US,THE KAPUEPUE ARROGANT NPP PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE HAHAHAHAHA.

• DrG 10 years ago

sack the muthafucking mayor

• Chief King Maker of Cape Coast 10 years ago

Mr President why does he still have a Job? SACK HIM!!!!!

• OPINION 10 years ago

No Ashanti, Nana Addo NPP member has this kind of humility. I respect JM for his humility.

• Captain Mosquito, Netherlands 10 years ago

Mahama hasstarted campaigning, thinking there would bea re-run of the elections. No chance for him. The election results will be overturned, and Mahamawill be fired. MARK MY WORDS !!

• Dominic 10 years ago

Mr. president, sack this " lover of Atta-Mills" and stop following him to render useless apologies

• Paulycuz 10 years ago

Good to do that!

• RAO 10 years ago

Please hold on, doesn't our president have more important issues to handle? Our country is in chaos and look at how executive time is being used, please lets get our priorities right.

• KWAME AMPONSAH 10 years ago

Shameless President and his cohorts should know Ghanaians are very decerning. What did the President say when the same idiot of a Mayor changed the name of Ohene Djan Stadium to Accra Stadium? If Mahama blessed him for that a ...

• AWOH 10 years ago

why change the name accra stadium .anew sport stadium can be built in brong ahaFO for ohene djan LEAVE ACCRA SPORT STADIUM ALONE

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

U are one of those that even DON'T KNOW THIS NATIONS HISTORY & FOLLOW BLINDLY AS MADAM OKOH SAID!!!!

OHENE DJAN IS FROM ABURI- AN AKUAPEM NOR FROM BRONG AHAFO.

EVEN IF HE IS FROM BRONG AHAFO - DOES HE NOT DESERVE TO BE ...

• kay 10 years ago

have they forgotten the family of ohene djan or it is because he is dead?

Ohene Djan was ordinary person not a national hero.

• Edna Mensah 10 years ago

YES, BLESSED ARE THE PEACEMAKERS, FOR THEY SHALL BE CALLED SONS OF GOD.

• YAW MANU 10 years ago

THE ISSUE IS SIMPLE TO WIT IF YOU HAVE BAD CHILDREN IN YOUR HOUSE YOU WILL ALWAYS BE AT THE RECEIVING END DISGRACE.AGAIN IF YOU HAVE INDISCIPLINE CHILDREN AT HOME YOU WILL NEVER STOP RENDERING APOLOGIES FOR THEIR MISDEEDS AN ...

• ABDUL HAKEEM HALIK 10 years ago

good one my president.......this shows hw respectful you are.

• Francis 10 years ago

So this is what our presidency had been reduced to. Why should the President be apologising on behalf of someone who seems to know it all and doesn't even appreciate it when he is clearly in the wrong? There is a saying that ...

Because the president was part of the decision that backfired terribly. Mills cannot be canonized yet, his sainthood has to wait!

• Yaa 10 years ago

I am now convinced that the Presidency knew all about the re-naming. After a public apology on behalf of the Mayor, this is a move that cements my belief that the Presidency knew all about the Mayor's "sad mistake". Is the ...

• PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 10 years ago

UNINVITED GUEST !!!!!!
    ====================================
    THE BEST WAY OF= APOLOGY =
    =============================
    THE MAYOR =RESIGN= ASAP
    =============================
    PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI(FOUNDER )

MARK ...

• Ohene. 10 years ago

Idiot NDC =mahama.

• samo 10 years ago

if u need engagement and weeding rings just samo jewellery on 0574913521...we have flexible terms of payment and have varieties of rings to choose from...u can samo jewellery on facebook for more pictures and details...qualit ...

• KPOSEGI 10 years ago

prez third fool is areal fool ooo there fore the mayor is an ordain foooool

• A. Agyeman-Dua 10 years ago

It is good the President and the Accra Metropolitan Chief Executive have gone to see Madam Theodosia Okoh. This is a worthy example. As a nation, we have no history and no future if we fail to honour our heroes and heroine ...

• A. Agyeman-Dua 10 years ago

God bless our homeland Ghana and make our nation great and strong. Call it by whatever name but we need leadership by example to move this nation forward. Let's hope Uncle Oko has learnt very useful lessons from this incid ...

what did he do for the nation?

• vee 10 years ago

That is good of my beloved president, as a good son of every mother may apologise to her mother, when ever he makes any mistake.May God bless my president mother, and also the wife for his wonderful behavour.Lord do good to ...

• Sir T 10 years ago

GOOD MOVE BY THE PRESIDENT.

• PEASEA 10 years ago

Previously it was the General Mosquito but now the Mayor and his name sake are the Albatrosses around the neck of the NDC Government and even some NDC faithfuls would jubilate with other Ghanaians if there should be possible ...

• EDEM. 10 years ago

You are still leaving the Flagstaff house and no amount of playing to the gallery is going to save your behind. For being so heartless, grossly disrespectful and criminally minded to even think of using this accomplished lady ...

• JIM CROW 10 years ago

HE DOESN'T HAVE ANYTHING TO DO. JUST PLAYING TO THE GALLERY. BRING BACK OUR STOLEN MONIES. THAT'S MORE IMPORTANT. OTHERWISE YOU AND YOUR HIRELINGS WILL BE PERPETUALLY CURSED.

• misty 10 years ago

THIS GUY GET NOTHING TO DO HE SHOULD THINK ABOUT THE ECONOMY THAT IS FALLING APART, U SHOULD
    FOCUS ON ARREARS THAT U OWN THE MASSES

• Atta. Kwaku 10 years ago

Mr. Otani Mahama you can go to my hometown but triste me Thaís canto chance the demissionário of THE supreme court Judges.You will still get down.8 months as a president i
    s enough.Afari Djan is a thief

• Ghana Children Murdered by theCorrupt 10 years ago

Ok ok, do you not know that Ghanaian/black bigots are the loudest complainants about racism? Motherfucker bigots.

Ghana’s problem is not about who won the election. It’s about when can we see a nation where the majorit ...