Police backtrack on social media ban threat

Read Comments Comments (35)

• Citizen 7 years ago

Africans, you don`t the truth of your democratic credentials so you involve the force to with your dubious activities. It`s never the same in any truthful democratic country.

• Kafui 7 years ago

Kumahor is saying this be a use they now want to restrict MTN, Vodafone, TIGO and AIRTEL on the day of elections like they did in 2012. NDC has a central communication equipment to transmit their messages to their central con ...

• Kafui 7 years ago

The security services are supposed to be neutral. However, those in command support the governing party. All opposition parties must just mark those people of the services who misbehave during the course of elections. It may ...

• True Talk 7 years ago

Everyday we all see police officers blatantly taking money from drivers for minor traffic offenses. That should be the primary focus of the IGP, not shutting down social media on Election day.

• Sense Is Man 7 years ago

Corrupt Mahama's 72-year old IGP thinks he can use the uniform to instruct Ghanaians about. What over-aged Kudalor forgets is that there are more sensible Ghanaians than him

• Nurudeen 7 years ago

You were thinking Ghana is for the police.. how many police and security forces do we have in Ghana? compare that to the rest of the population and the number of arms in private hands. so insist of fairness in elections cos ...

• EBBY 7 years ago

You are right. The government is living in illusion about its ability to cower the population into submission with the security forces. They are having nostalgia about the modus operandi of the Rawlings regime when they used ...

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

How can ignorant like this lead a country. Instead of fighting crime, you are thinking about social media during election. This country is gone to the drain.

• Concerned 7 years ago

Last weekk sc cut the ec to size now the public and international community have done the same to the puppet igp.the international court would have been waiting4 if the ban had led2 voilence.the donkey's days are numbered. w ...

• BADWAM KRAKYE 7 years ago

Mahama and his cohorts are just cowards. Bring it on if you fools think you have balls between your legs.

We'll move you out come what may and none of your intimidations can stop us. Gha will come to the right hands come N ...

Police should stay neutral in politics. However, in Ghana, or Africa as a whole, that is not the case. It's all due to how we were brought up. We have to lie or follow the strong to survive. The police and the court have fail ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

How could they be nuetral when any political party that comes to power would like to use them.

• BENTA 7 years ago

If offending security persons and electoral officers are prosecuted the rest will not do it again next time.

Like I said, we were brought up to listen. The court is not fair and so do the police. Some people in Ghana cannot be arrested when even they kill. The likes of Akwasi Agyemang from kumasi. Ghana is a failed country. 1979 kil ...

• truthman 7 years ago

Nane3ma! Swine! I'm glad they've backtracked. IGP John Kudalor thought he was the chief of Ghana or something. He should go to his hometown and be a chief over there.

• Antonio 7 years ago

Because it was not going to work out. The commissioner is going to wash and dress with mega demonstrations. Why can't they emulate from countries like Sweden, Switzerland policing etc,rather than Uganda and Zimbabwe? We are s ...

• Niii 7 years ago

Dumsor is back!!! Why? Mahama should resign immediately!!!

• Fred Ali 7 years ago

Shame Ghana Police Service. The service needs to grow into a modern Police Service and stop this ancient useless police tactics.

• Nagode 7 years ago

This bogus Dr. IGP, is a pathetic EMBARRASSMENT to the force!

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

So Ghana can't do things different from other countries to set as a good example for others to follow suit,always imitating bad examples of other countries like Uganda, Kenya etc.
    If there's no intention to rig or cheat why ...

• PATRIOTIC PATRIOT 7 years ago

It's heart warming hearing this. The Police should know that they are not serving the interest of any individual neither are they serving the interest of any institution. The Police is a national institution serving the inter ...

• Mr.ADDRAH BRIGHT 7 years ago

GOODMORNING AND WELCOME TO THE START OF A NEW WEEK..
    IT IS A MONDAY AND WE PRAY FOR MORE WINS. WHATSAPP OR CALL 0543304970

• LEVEL PLAYING FIELD 7 years ago

WE WERE GOING TO APPEAL TO THE SUPREME COURT TO RESTRAIN THAT STUPID AND BACKWARD PLAN FROM THE POLICE AND IGP ON THE EVE OF THE ELECTIONS.

• Atoapoma Abransamadu 7 years ago

You better dare not ban any social media in Ghana on any day! We are not living in Uganda, which has been ruled by a ruthless dictator over the last 34 years!

• Omint's (Bel. 7 years ago

You're now back to u'r senses

• HAZARD 7 years ago

KOJO YANKSON IS TOO BIASED AND UNFIT TO BE BROADCAST JOURNALIST. HE CAN BRING CIVIL WAR TO GH. LIKE IN RWANDA. HE SHD CONCENTRATE ON DIABETES CAMPAIGN

• YAO 7 years ago

THEY HAVE COME BACK TO THEIR SENSES, BIG SHAME TO THESE PEOPLE

• shepherd 7 years ago

IGP suggested sometin off his head and not something from the plans on board from the police what a shame to Ghana police service so the IGP can come up with personal alternatives which do not come from the service. u needed ...

• King Adjei 7 years ago

Better not we are not In East or Central African countries where dictators have taken control of affairs .NDC will never never be allowed to hold Ghanians hostage

• Wo I Amelema 7 years ago

Mr. IGP on your appointment, you have been warned to be neutral but if you try to support NDC foolishly, I bet you, you and your family will regret and dont take it as a joke

• BADWAM KRAKYE 7 years ago

You NDC's are all cowards. Bring it on if you fools think you have balls between your legs.

We'll move you out come what may and none of your intimidations can stop us. Gha will come to the right hands come November and we ...

• black magic 7 years ago

hi there is indian spritualist in the wold call for all spritual problem money charm locket
    and knws that this year is for the lord lucifer a lot will happen in 2016 just calculate
    666+666+666+6+6+6 give the answer is ...

• Douglas Jasikan 7 years ago

Opana Ford Odwafunu Dumsor gave IGP power to do that but,now Busumburu Kofi Annan, Ghana's hero has talked.IGP will lose his position after Opana loses.SHAME.

• Anthony Frimpong NY 7 years ago

Sure, the IGP casually mentioned blocking social media as only one way in a number of ways. However after the massive public objection to the dumb idea, he still doubled down. He said nobody could stop him if he chose to blac ...

• Dabi Asem 7 years ago

If the IGP made the statement from the top of his head as explained by his media representative then the IGP needs to be careful with his head.