General News Fri, 27 Jan 2017

Click for Market Deals →

Akufo-Addo swears in 8 ministers today

President Akufo-Addo will today, Friday 27 January swear into office eight of his ministerial nominees who have been approved by parliament after their vetting.

They are Alan Kyerematen – Trade, Ken Ofori-Atta – Finance, Dominic Nitiwul – Defence, Albert Kan-Dapaah – National Security, Gloria Akuffo – Attorney General and Justice Minister, Ambrose Dery – the Interior, Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey – Foreign Affairs, and Hajia Alima Mahama – Local Government & Rural Development.

Although 13 of the president’s nominees have been vetted so far, only the eight have been approved. The report on the remaining five is expected to be put before the house for consideration soon.

Meanwhile, the minority in parliament has had issues with two of the remaining five nominees. The minority insists Senior Minister-designate Yaw Osafo Marfo and Energy Minister-designate Boakye Agyarko have a few questions to answer.

While the chairman of the Appointments Committee, Joe Osei Owusu told Class News’ parliamentary correspondent on Thursday that the two have been cleared, the Ranking Member on the committee Haruna Iddrisu said there had been no decision to that effect.

Source: Class FM

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter

Related Articles: