EC public forum: We have not been invited – LMVCA

Convenor LMVCA David Asante Convenor of LMVCA, David Asante

Thu, 29 Oct 2015 Source: kasapafmonline.com

Pro-opposition pressure group Let My Vote Count Alliance (LMVCA) says it has not been invited to attend today’s public forum on the debate for a new voters register for next year’s elections.

The group, which is one of the main organizations championing the campaign for a new electoral album and recently organized a demonstration which resulted in mayhem after Police brutalized the protesters that resulted in one of them losing an eye.

Convener of the group, David Asante in an interview with sit-in-hostess Yaa Serwah Akoto on Anopa Kasapa on Kasapa 102.3 FM bashed the EC for its inability to take a decision on the call for a new voters register after one full year.

“The EC has failed to make its position clear on this issue long after this discussion started; this indeed is a worrying sign moving into future elections."

David Asante further accused the Electoral Commission (EC) of being intolerant, alleging that the EC had denied pro-opposition pressure group, Movement for Joint Action the opportunity of making its case at today's forum because the group demonstrated in favour of calls for a new register in Koforidua last week.

“I am reliably informed that the EC, after it had earlier written to this group inviting it to make its presentation on the petition submitted on the voters register, have just informed the group that its name has been struck out from the list of groups to present their case today. How come the EC is intolerant,” he said?

Meanwhile, political parties and other stakeholders who have delivered proposals to the EC over the call for a new register are to make representation at the forum to justify their positions.

The opponents against a new register are also expected to make a strong case why the current register must be maintained.

The Panel is constituted by His Lordship Professor V.C.R.A.C. Crabbe, Co-Chair of the Coalition for Domestic Election Observers, (CODEO), former Justice of the Supreme Court of Ghana, former Professor of Law, and former Electoral Commissioner of Ghana; Dr. Grace Bediako, a former Government Statistician and former member of the National Development Planning Commission.

The rest, Dr. Nii Narku Quaynor, a renowned computer scientist, Chairman of the National Information Technology Agency (NITA) Board of Directors, and President of the Internet Society of Ghana; Most Reverend Professor Emmanuel Asante, former Presiding Bishop of the Methodist Church of Ghana and Chairman of the National Peace Council and Maulvi Bin Salih, Ameer of the Ahmadiyya Mission of Ghana.

Source: kasapafmonline.com
Related Articles: