Gh@60: Akufo-Addo names honours committee

Thu, 26 Jan 2017 Source: classfmonline.com

▶ Click Here for Full AFCON Coverage ◀

President Nana Akufo-Addo has inaugurated a committee to shortlist Ghanaians who deserve awards for contributing significantly to the growth of the country as Ghana marks its 60th independent anniversary.

Mr Akufo-Addo unveiled the committee on Thursday, January 26, after he launched a separate committee to see to the planning of the anniversary.

The president announced Prof Yaw Twumasi as the Chair of the Committee with the members being Prof Irene Odotei, Prof J.H. Nketia, Audrey Gadzekpo, Tumu Kuoro Richard Babini Kanton VI, and Kweku Asirifi.

Mr Akufo-Addo was of the view: “On such an occasion, it is fitting and proper that the nation recognises and commemorates the work of some of its citizens – those who have distinguished themselves, those who have contributed to bringing us to where we are today, and a fitting honour accorded to those to whom honour is due.”

He said the committee would liaise with statutory bodies and present to Ghanaians those who are worthy to be offered such honours.

Source: classfmonline.com
Related Articles: