Six newly created ministries to work from Office of the Prez – Akufo-Addo

Akufo Addo Ballot2 President Nana Akufo-Addo

Thu, 12 Jan 2017 Source: 3news.com

President Akufo Addo has clarified that the six new ministries he has created would be working from his office – The Office of the President and be funded by the budget of the Presidency.

According to the president, the decision to create some of these ministries is in line with the parties manifesto and in tandem with promises to made on the campaign trail. Nana Addo said “the six (6) new portfolios that are coming up will to be working under the umbrella of the office of the president.

They are not stand-up ministries that are going to be established. “They are all going to function as part of the office of the president but the ministers involved will have their designated portfolios and they’ll find their being within the budget of the office of the president.” The six new ministries are: Monitoring and Evaluation, Regional Re-organisation and Development, Ministry for Planning, Minister for Special Development Initiatives, Business Development Ministry and the Ministry for Inner City and Zongo Communities Development.

“These are the portfolios with specific tasks which are going to be part of the office of the president” the president added. Nana Addo’s comments come on the back of public criticism over the creation of new ministries which some have described as needless. The Minority in Parliament has also described the appointments into these new ministries as “Job for the Boys”. The president has named 36 minister designates who are to be vetted and approved.

Source: 3news.com
Related Articles: